My reflection First week #ONL171

webb_mote_oln171

Onlinemeeting with PBL-group 6

I have a new employment as an ICT-educater. I will support teachers using online learning and that part is a new kontext for me. I need to learn more about e-learning and education at distance. I searched on the web to find some readingmaterial. I found a MOOC which was right on spot!

I’m especially intrested in how to design online learning and how to create collaborative learning online. The course also gives me the opportunity to expose myself for e-learning in action. If I have’t tryed it myself, I think it’s hard to support others.

But there was two problems. The course started one week ago and it’s in english! Well, I try to sign up anyway. And about the english, I just throw myself in to it.

The next day I took part of a webinarium with Sara Mörtsell, and the day after that I participitated an PBL-group. Now I have attended three meetings with my wonderful PBL-group.

About the english language it’s difficult to both listen and do the metathinking at the same time. But maybee I will develop the ability.

”The filter bubble”

From the webinarium with Sara Mörtell I became aware of how ”Googlified” we have become. I learned about the ”the filter bubble”. I’m a big fan and a user of Googles tools. But It gave me someting to think about. I’m already familiar with Wikimedia and Creative Commons. But I will try to ge better to CC-mark my own material.

The evolution of PBL

In the PBL-groups we will use ‘Problem based learning’ (PBL). I haven’t used PBL since I studied to became a teacher in the 80:s. But I think the backgroundthoughts for PBL has influenced the pedagogic of today. Funnily enough PBL is one officiell method at the college I just started to work at. I’m not surprised. The education at this college is a preparation for a very practical profession.

When I read the articel by Savin-Baden (2014) I understand that PBL has growing into new constallations since the 80:s. Savis-Baden had mapped the PBL-constallations with particilar theorists and activities. She means that there is a relatively little understanding of the different consteallations. But the map can help those who wants to use or want to develop PBL, be clearer about the purpose, practicis, and pedagogies involved. It’s to early for me to identify  what PBL-constallation the teachers at our college use.

Charlotte
@lottechristoff2


References

Savin-Baden, M., (2014) Problem-based learning: New constellations for the 21stCentury. Journal of Excellence in College Teaching 25 (3/4) 197-219 Preprint Savin-Baden JECT (3)

2 reaktioner på ”My reflection First week #ONL171

  1. I agree with Alastair, that you are bound to succeed in this course and in anything else you put your hand to because of your wonderful open attitude! Just throwing yourself in the deep end is scary, but sometimes it is the best way to learn – especially with ICTs :-).

    Gilla

  2. a systematic reflection, Charlotte, love your blog! it has been great working with you, and learning new ideas like the meet at middle””. I am exploring to use it for facilitating my next workshop.

    Gilla

Kommentera

